§ 62.1-69.38

Membership; terms

A. The Commission shall be composed of 18 voting members that include nine members representing the Commonwealth of Virginia and nine members representing the State of North Carolina. The Virginia delegation shall consist of the six legislative members appointed to the Virginia Roanoke River Basin Advisory Committee, and three nonlegislative citizen members appointed to the Virginia Roanoke River Basin Advisory Committee, who represent different geographical areas of the Virginia portion of the Roanoke River Basin, to be appointed by the Governor of Virginia. The North Carolina delegation to the Commission shall be appointed as determined by the State of North Carolina. All members appointed to the Commission by the Commonwealth of Virginia and the State of North Carolina shall reside within the Basin’s watershed. Members of the Virginia House of Delegates and the Senate of Virginia, the North Carolina House of Representatives and Senate, and federal legislators, who have not been appointed to the Commission and whose districts include any portion of the Basin, shall serve as nonvoting ex officio members of the Commission.

B. Legislative members of the Virginia delegation, federal legislators, and local government officials, whether appointed or ex officio, shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. Nonlegislative citizen members shall be appointed to serve two-year terms, unless the member is reappointed by the appointing authorities of each state. Appointments to fill vacancies, other than by expiration of a term, shall be made for the unexpired terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment.

C. Each state’s delegation to the Commission may meet separately to discuss Basin-related issues affecting their state, and may report their findings independently of the Commission. A majority of the voting members shall constitute a quorum.


2002, cc. 657, 843; 2003, c. 885.


  • Plain Text
  • JSON
  • XML