§ 30-258

Membership; terms

The Commission shall consist of 11 members. Of these members, there shall be eight legislative members and three nonlegislative citizen members as follows: five members of the House of Delegates to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates in accordance with the principles of proportional representation contained in the Rules of the House of Delegates; three members of the Senate to be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules; and three nonlegislative citizen members appointed by the Governor. Nonlegislative citizen members of the Commission shall be citizens of the Commonwealth.Legislative members shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. Nonlegislative citizen members shall be appointed for a term of four years. Appointments to fill vacancies, other than by expiration of a term, shall be for the unexpired terms. Legislative and nonlegislative citizen members may be reappointed for successive terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments.The Commission shall elect a chairman and vice-chairman every two years from among its membership, who shall be members of the General Assembly.


2004, c. 1000.


  • Plain Text
  • JSON
  • XML